Yes, sweet pancakes for lunch! Even though this is rather a Sunday morning dish, I just had the craving for something sweet.

I’d love to eat either sauerkraut with mashed potatoes or apple pancakes when going over to my grandparents’ house. Not having had any pancakes in months, I thought I might treat myself to some apple “buttermilk” pancakes. All one has to do is substitute the real buttermilk is add some soy yogurt and lemon juice into the non-dairy milk (in the following case, soy milk), whisk it together and there you have it – vegan buttermilk.

By the way, before telling you the recipe: I tend to change the measurements by mood, sometimes using “cups”, sometimes gr/ml. If this is a problem or kind of annoys you, feel free to tell me – I’ll change it. Furthermore, I make most dishes in small portions, about one to two servings – double or quadruple the ingredients in my recipes if you like!

Apple “Buttermilk” Pancakes

  • 125g whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 200ml non-dairy milk (as said, I used soy milk)
  • 4tbsp soy yogurt (add another tbsp if the batter is too thick)
  • 1tsp lemon juice
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 medium sized apple, sliced (like in the picture above or any other shape)
  • vegan margarine for frying
  • cinnamon, margarine, maple syrup or other toppings of your choice

Add the soy yogurt, a pinch of salt and lemon juice into a small bowl. Slowly pour in the non-dairy milk, stirring the mixture until completely smooth. Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and another pinch of salt in a bigger bowl. Incorporate the “buttermilk”-mixture into the dry, whisking until there are no lumps left.

Set your stove on medium high and heat a small pan. When the pan is hot, melt the margarine and add 1/4 of the batter (as the recipe will make about 4 pancakes). Decorate the pancake with the apple slices and flip once the bottom is brown.

I topped mine with some cinnamon, maple syrup and some vegan margarine. The recipe will serve between one and two people (4 pancakes if you’re really hungry, 2 as a snack.. I had 3 ^__^), but feel free to double it if you please!

