It’s been a terribly cold and LONG winter here in Germany. I’ve been hearing people talk about the coldest winter since 30 years ago and on top of that: icy temperatures until mid of May, hardly having had the spring feeling at all.

Now that that’s finally over, it seems like summer time to me! Except for the hay fever and the important test I have to study for, I surely am in the best mood. To me, anything above 18°C is a dream come true. And what would a hot summer’s day be without.. make a guess.. yay, ice cream!

Since going vegan last year, I’ve mainly been sticking to all kinds of sorbets. Walking through the grocery stores around here, I’ve only seen one soy ice cream until now. The one on the right from the Italian brand Valsoia. It’s pretty good (kind of like the Magnum ice cream) though you’ll get to the point where you’re sick and tired of it for a while. – Which made me think: “Why not make my own?”

Due to not having an ice cream maker, my first attempts of putting the ice cream mixture straight into the freezer were quite a failure, kind of like a solid block of ice you could throw at someone (not that I would.. hm..).

I then tried a recipe from Hannah Kaminsky’s My Sweet Vegan – her “Green Tea Freezer Pops”. They turned out great, even keeping my picky, always complaining sister satisfied.

My recent idea consisted of making a raw vegan ice cream. Kind of inspired by THE favourite of my pre-vegan days, Häagen Dazs’ “Strawberry Cheesecake”, this is what came out:

Really surprised by the result, the ice cream is creamy, refreshing and actually reminds me of cheesecake. Made with a base of half cashews, half macadamia nuts (almonds would probably be great aswell) and some water, raw pie crust made from walnuts, dates and a pinch of salt, finely chopped strawberries, some agave as sweetener and some lemon juice, the result was pretty good.

It’s really surprising how creamy (and obviously rich) a nut based ice cream is and I’ll definitely be experimenting on some other versions in the future!

