Having tried all kinds of non-dairy milks (such as soy, rice, oat, etc.) and all of them store-bought, I suddenly thought Why not make my own vegan milk? And as I had never tried nut milk before, I grabbed out my favorite ones – cashews!

Inspired by many raw food blogs that contained recipes for all kinds of nut and seed milks, I got out the blender and following ingredients:

1/2 cup of raw cashew nuts

water

1 1/2 tsp of agave nectar

pinch of salt

Soak the cashew nuts in double amount of water for 2 hours. Drain and rinse them afterwards.

Place the soaked cashews into a blender with about about 2 cups of water and blend until smooth. You’ll have to keep it blending for about 2 minutes as there will be quite chunky otherwise. Depending on what texture you like, just add more water. Finally, add the agave and salt.

You might have to strain it as mine was still a bit chunky at the end. My blender isn’t that new, so it depends.

Enjoy it with granola, by itself or any other way you like!

